President’s Design Award Winners – Singapore

Now in its 4th year, the President’s Design Award confers Singapore’s highest accolade on its top designers and designs across all design disciplines. Singapore designers and designs that are truly innovative and have improved the quality of life and enhanced human potential and national competitiveness are conferred the award through a process of public nomination and an international jury evaluation. This year’s President’s Design Award features 4 Designers of the Year and 7 Design of the Year Award recipients.

Posted by: Bruce Nussbaum on November 20

Bruce Nussbaum is contributing editor to BusinessWeek. Previously assistant managing editor in charge of BusinessWeek’s innovation and design coverage, he was named one of the 40 most powerful people in design by I.D. Magazine in 2005.

“I was over at the President of Singapore’s residence last night to watch him personally give four Designer of the Year awards. Boy, are they promoting Design in Singapore!

The winners of this year’s Designer of the Year are:

Tham Khai Meng

Tham Khai Meng, the Worldwide Creative Director of Olgivy & Mather, New York.

Chris Lee

Chris Lee, founder of Asylum Creative (I had lunch with him and he’s great talent. Lee also spoke in Mandarin to his dad when he accepted the award—the only person in the evening to do so)

Koichiro Ikebuchi

Koichiro Ikebuchi, director of Atelier Ikebuchi

Look Boon Gee

Look Boon Gee, managing director of LOOK Architects

The US equivalent is to have the annual winners of the National Design Awards go the White House and be thanked by the President’s wife. So the message in the US is, what? Women know design and real men aren’t interested?”


Full List of Award Recipients for 2009 Designer of the Year

Koichiro Ikebuchi – Director, Atelier Ikebuchi Pte Ltd

Chris Lee – Founder and Creative Director, Asylum Creative Pte Ltd

Look Boon Gee – Managing Director, LOOK Architects Pte Ltd

Tham Kai Meng – Worldwide Creative Director, Ogilvy and Mather

Design of the Year

Genexis Theatre, Fusionopolis – Arup and WOHA

Henderson Waves – RSP Architects Planners and Engineers (Pte) Ltd

Paper Fold – Exit Design

Republic Polytechnic – DP Architects in association with Maki & Associates

The Met (Bangkok) – WOHA

Urband Origami – Nanyang Optical Co Pte Ltd

X-halo Breath Thermometer – Philips Design

THINKINGOUTTABOX congratulates the winners of the President’s Design Awards 2009!


About ranman

Design educator with a Masters of Design degree. 32 years of design experience. View all posts by ranman

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: